State Rehabilitation Council

The CNMI State Rehabilitation Council (SRC) is a Governor appointed body that provides advice and support to the Office of Vocational Rehabilitation, on behalf of people with disabilities and their families, regarding the delivery of effective rehabilitation services which lead to employment for people with disabilities.  Each member serves a three-year term.


SRC 2018 Members

Elizabeth Ada - Chairperson, Representation: Former VR Recipient

Frances Torres - Vice Chairperson & Employment and Marketing Committee Chairperson, Representation: Business, Industry & Labor

Emeterio Fitial - Secretary, Representation: Statewide Independent Living Council Rep.

Monika Diaz - Fiscal Officer, Representation: Advocate/Tinian Rep.

Josephine Mesta - QA/QI Committee Chairperson, Representation: State Workforce Investment Board

Anna Yamada - Transition and Assistive Technology Committee Chairperson, Representation: State Educational Agency

James Rayphand - Member, Representation: Client Assistance Program

Jane Tudela - Member, Representation: Qualified Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor

Victorino Cepeda - Member, Representation: Business, Industry & Labor

Jill Arenovski - Member, Representation: Business, Industry & Labor

Ian Morrell - Member, Representation: Business, Industry & Labor

Chad Merfalen - Member, Representation: Disability Advocacy Group

Wilma Villanueva - Member, Representation: Individuals' representatives of individuals with disabilities who have difficulty in representing themselves

Angelray Guerrero - Member, Former VR Recipient

Lucia Manglona - Member, Representation: Advocate/Rota Rep.

Arlene Yamagata - M.S., CRC - Ex-Officio, Representation: Director of Designated State Unit



State Independent Living Council

The purpose of the CNMI State Independent Living Council (SILC) is to assist in the development of the State Plan for Independent Living, a detailed three-year plan that sets the parameters and establishes the goals for the provision of Independent Living services in the CNMI with other state agencies. Other roles of the SILC are systems advocacy, education of the public regarding disability-related topics, and provision of technical assistance concerning the Independent Living philosophy and approach. Members are a dedicated team of people who believe in the Independent Living philosophy.


The SILC is comprised of no more than fourteen voting members, and no less than three ex-officio members, who are appointed by the Governor, and who come from Saipan, Tinian and Rota. Unlike most organizations, the majority of the members of the Council must, by law, be persons with disabilities.


SILC 2018 Members

Gernadine Camacho - Chairperson, Representation: Advocate

Emeterio Fitial - Vice Chairperson, Representation: Advocate

Consolacion Atalig - Fiscal Officer, Representation: Advocate

Estella Cabaobas - Sergeant-at-Arms, Representation: Advocate

Antonelli Rosario - Secretary, Representation: Rota

Susan Satur - Member, Representation: Executive Director of the Center for Living Independently

Thomas Thornburgh - Member, Representation: Organizations that Provide Services for Individuals with Disabilities (NMPASI)

Arlene Yamagata - M.S., CRC - Ex-Officio, Representation: Director of Designated State Entity

Carla San Nicolas - Member, Representation: Tinian

Stanley Benavente - Member, Representation: Business Representative


pdfDownload the CNMI State Plan for Independent Living.272.57 KB